2011 Report


Colin Welsh, Kelso  got the Morebattle Games off to a cracking start winning the 800 metre open from scratch in 1min 58.01sec . Grant Kennedy, Glasgow took second place, Graham Lister, Kirkcaldy third and John Graham , Edinburgh fourth.

The 1600 metre Open victory went to the fast improving Adam Craig , TLJT in 4min 21.71 sec Stuart Somervail , Jed AC claimed second place from Rory Anderson , Hawick and Keith Lyall, Kelso AC.

Josh Abbott , Kelso AC battled his way past Scarlet Yates, Jed AC in the finishing straight of the 800 metre Youth`s to win in 2min 08.89sec. Moorfoot`s David Collins came third , Kyle Potts , TLJT fourth.

The 90 metre Junior saw diminutive Amy Campbell , Teviotdale Harriers  dive for the tape to hold off Scratch runner Natalie Robbins , Edinburgh AC in 12.02sec. Robbie Renwick , Peebles came in third place, Nicole Campbell , Teviotdale Harriers , Calum Anderson , Selkirk and Cameron Fisher , Jed AC made up the final.

Next up was the 90 metre Youth event and Lewis Hunter , Pitreavie AC stormed up the outside lane in 10.65sec to take the first prize from Robbie Yourston , TLJT , Scott Richardson , Jed AC came through for third. James Park , TLJT,  Charlie Wilson , TLJT , and Jasmin Tomlinson , Jed AC made up the places.

Hawick`s Keith Murray led all the way from the front mark to claim victory in the 3200 metre open in 9min 50.89sec. John Thomson , Coaltown took second place, Derek Scott , Hawick third and Ryan Milligan , Langholm fourth.

Jason Mcintosh , Kelso returned to the track after a long break to win the 1600 metre Youth in 4min 59.36sec , Andrew Hogg , Gala Harriers came home in second Nathan Cox , Berwick third and David Collins , Moorfoot fourth.

A blanket finish to the Open Lap race saw Graham Lister , Kirkcaldy take the tape on the outside from Wallace McGown , Sauchie in 30.83sec Lee Goodfellow came third. Other finalists were Ewan Travers , Kelso , Dylan Ali, TLJT, and Geoff Keen , Selkirk.

Kazya Stevens , Moorfoot and Josh Abbott , Kelso dived at the finishing line together and it was Kazya who claimed first place in 38.92sec  in the Junior Lap race Cal McLellan , Edinburgh AC was third. Rory Williams , Chirnside, Ronan McKean , Hawick and Grant Goodfellow , TLJT were the other finalists.

The Lap race for Youth`s was another photo finish and Jack Wilson , Hawick took the tape in 34.42sec from Craig Smith , TLJT and Matthew Bell , Hawick. Lewis Hunter , Pitreavie AC , Robbie Yourston , TLJT and Kerr Gerrard , Selkirk filled the minor places.

Final event of the day was the open 110 metre and it was the first win in the major event for Hawick`s  David Hush in 11.90 sec . David just held on from fast finishing David Rae , TLJT and David McKay , Kelso. Keiran Reilly , Edinburgh , David Greive , Hawick and John Paxton , Hawick were the other finalists.

Comments are closed.