2014 Report


Victory in the 800 metre Confined race went to 14 year old Rhaidan Scott of 70 metre with Rory McFadyen 8 year old off 200 metre in second place and 11 year old Emma Thomson in third. Winning time was 2 min 27.50 sec.

First open event was the 800 metre Youth Handicap and 12 year old Scott Tindle, Berwick off 100 metre claimed victory in 2 min 21.14 sec, followed home by 10 year old Archie Pilcher, Kelso off 85 metre and 13 year old Jack Amos, Jed AC off 50 metre.

Next up was the 800 metre Open Handicap. Top marker Paul Bellingham, Seghill of 135 metre was caught in the final straight by Andrew Thompson, Jed AC off 50 metre who took the tape in 1 min 59.64 sec. Third place went to Rory Anderson, Hawick off 30 metre,

The 1600 metre Open Handicap winner was Ryan Milligan, Langholm off 160 metre in 4 min 14.35 sec. easily defeating veteran John Thomson, Glenrothes running of same 160 metre mark who took second place. Rory Anderson, Hawick off 60 metre took third place again.

Ryan Milligan, Langholm was pulled 30 metre back to 150 metre but this did not affect the outcome of the 3200 metre Handicap, Ryan easily winning in 9 min 54.62 sec. A distant second place went to Darrell Hastie, Kelso running from Scratch mark. Youngster Jason McIntosh came home in third place.

12 year old Josh Abbotts, Kelso running from the Scratch mark was victorious in the under 13 Lap race in 38.67 sec. Angus Bryce 12 year old from Morebattle running off 11 metre took second place and 800 metre winner Scott Tindle, Berwick running off 21 metre claimed third place.

The Lap race for under 17 year old was won by 13 year old Cameron Clamp, Jedburgh off 14 metre in 34.31 sec. Scratch man Darcy Graham, Hawick 16 year old was second and 14 year old Campbell McNaughton, Annan off 9 metre third place.

Open Lap race was won by Wallace McGown, Sauchie off 37 metre in 30.75 sec, holding off Kelso pair Fraser Neil off 18 metre and Euan Pettigrew off 11 metre.

The 1600 metre Youth Handicap was won by 13 year old Jack Amos, Jed AC running from 195 metre mark. Madeline Collins, 9 year old from Moorfoot off 450 metre was second and Joey Brown 12 year old from Chirnside off 195 metre third.

The 110 metre Open Sprint brought the meeting to a close with a close finish between youngster Craig Smith, Jedburgh off 8 metre and veterans David McKay, Kelso off 12 metre and Thomas Finkle, Jedburgh off 11 metre and that is how they finished in 12.21 sec after a photo finish camera decision.


Comments are closed.