2016 Report

The Open competition started with the Youths 800 metre first up. A field of 12 runners were led home by Kyle Taylor (10) Chirnside in 2min 07.25 sec running off 160 metre start, Erin Clarkson (10) T.L.J.T. came in second and James Gilholme (13) Belford third.

Next up was the Open 800 metre handicap, top markers Alan Inglis Hawick on 160 metre & Paul Bellingham Cramlington 150 metre battled their way until in the last 20 metre when Alan got the upper hand and claimed first prize in 1min 56.82 sec. Paul took second and Matt Dougal T.L.J.T. off 40 metre came home third.

Ten Heats of the 90 metre Youth Championship were next event with Luke Rathie , Kyle Taylor , Grace McWhinnie , Tom Kelman , Molly Mcpherson , Anna Brotherston , Struan Wells , Matthew Newman , Owen Shiell , Aaron Russell , Jess Wodehouse , Emma Brus , Jamie Kinghorn & Eilidh Murray progressing through to X – Ties.

Heats of Eddie Young 110 metre handicap were contested over 7 heats with John Paxton , John Fleming , Terry Marshall , Angus Johnstone , David Lauder , Corey Wilson , David McKay , Drew Bryson , & Glyn Desport progressing through to X – Ties.

The six X -Ties of 90 metre Youths resulted in Luke Rathie , Kyle Taylor , Tamzin Scott , Struan Wells , Sam Archibald & Matthew Newman winning and progressing to the final.
Fraser Gorvett T.L.J.T. running off 130 metre claimed a convincing victory in the 1600 metre Open handicap with back marker Rory Anderson Hawick off 50 metre in second place and veteran Paul Bellingham Cramlington off 295 metre in third winning time was 4 min 24.13 sec.

X -Ties of the 110 metre resulted in John Fleming , Angus Johnstone , Terry Marshall , Glyn Desport , Campbell McNaughton & Corey Wilson going through to contest the final.
Birthday boy Struan Wells (13) Leithenburn celebrated in big style in the final of the Bob Inglis sponsored 90 metre Youth Championship. Running off 8 metre he burst through the field to break the tape in 10.49 sec with team mate Sam Archibald (14) in second & Matthew Newman (13) Hawick Sprint Club third.

The 3200 metre Open Handicap saw a magnificent piece of distance running from Darrell Hastie Kelso running from scratch mark Darrell took the lead with 600 metres left and recorded an excellent 9 min 55.74 sec in breaking the finishing tape. Dean Whiteford Innerleithen of 180 metre and Greg Walker Hawick 155 metre took the minor places. Darrell was awarded the Trophy for best performance of the day.

Final of Lap race for Youth Group B saw Matthew Beaton (10) T.L.J.T. off 55 metre claim victory from Molly Noble (11) T.L.J.T. off 76 metre , Ben Lyall (12) Kelso of 15 metre & Tanzin Scott (10) T.L.J.T. off 58 metre dead heated for third place.Winning time was 33.29 sec.

Youth Group A Lap race final was won by Matthew Beaton (13) Hawick Sprint Club of 25 metre in 33.01 sec , Robbie Paulin (13) Chirnside off 20 metre took second & Danielle Lockie (13) T.L.J.T. off 48 metre third.

The Open Lap Final was a top markers affair with Mhairi Henderson T.L.J.T. running of 63 metre easily holding off veteran Drew Bryson Hawick off 60 metre and veteran David Hush Hawick off 55 metre in 29.64 sec.

Elle Cooper (11) Jed AC running from top mark of 420 metre was a clear winner of the 1600 metre Youth in 4 min 49.68 sec. There was a spirited run from 9 year old Charlie Jones Chirnside off 345 metre in second place and his team mate Daniel Ross (11) took third off 315 metre.

Final event of the day saw a clear win for Hawick`s Glyn Desport off 8.5 metre in the Eddie Young 110 metre handicap. John Fleming Kelso off 12 metre could not resist Glyn`s last 20 metre surge but held on for second place from youngster Campbell McNaughton off 14 metre from Annan took third.

Comments are closed.