2010 Report


The final Borders Athletics meeting took place in overcast conditions but thankfully mostly dry.

Gordon Eland from Broughton in the Lake District claimed his second win of the season in the 800 metre open,holding on from a fast finishing Alex Bryce, Falkirk Victoria in 1min 58.37sec, Ross Finlayson, Lasswade took 3rd place and Stuart Somervail, Jed AC 4th.

Derek Scott, Hawick hung on to take the tape in 4min 26.26sec from Dean Whiteford, Innerleithen in the 1600 metre open with Stuart Somervail, Jed AC , 3RD and Keith Murray, Hawick 4th.

The 800 metre Youth was also a second win of the season this time for Zaynah Aziz, Selkirk who found another gear rounding the final bend to storm home in 2min 07.92sec from second place Kyle Potts, TLJT, Euan Graham, Gala took 3rd, David Collins, Moorfoot 4th place, Calum Gray, Moorfoot 5th and Darren Knox, Selkirk 6th.

Bethan Douglas, Hawick was in sparkling form in the Youth 90 metre for front markers helped by a strong following wind taking the tape in 9.88sec with Henry Clarkson, TLJT and Jasmin Tomlinson, Jed AC taking the minor places.Other Finalists were Gemma Scott, TLJT, Ryan Laidlaw, Cardrona and Ryan Houten, Moorfoot.

The 90 metre Youth for back markers was a one, two, three for the Jed AC Club, Scott Richardson taking the honours in 9.97sec followed by Craig Grieve and Chloe Rollie other finalists were Craig Gillan, TLJT, Mark Henderson, Kelso and Euan Pettigrew, Kelso.

Dean Whiteford went one better in the 3200 metre open running strongly in the last two laps to claim victory from Keith Murray in 10min 00.31sec with Iain Williams, TLJT in 3RD place and scratch man Darrell Hastie, Kelso in 4th.

An exceptional performance in the 1600 metre Youth not only gave Adam Craig, Lauder the first prize but also the Trophy for best performance of the day. Running from the scratch mark Adam gradually worked his way through the field to take the front in the last 10 metre finishing in 4min 47.45sec ahead of Jack Stanners, Selkirk, Lewis Gray, EAC and Matthew Wilson, Jed AC.

Drew Bryson, Hawick was a man on a mission in the Open Lap race and duly claimed his first victory in many years, in 31.45sec, David Grieve, Hawick took 2nd place and Lee Goodfellow, TLJT 3rd. Other finalist were David McKay, Kelso, Alec Bryce, Falkirk Victoria, and Paddy Jumelle, Corstorphine.

Matthew Bell, Hawick was the dramatic photo finish winner in the Youth lap race just holding off Jack Wilson, Hawick in 32.67sec Sam Bandeen, Hawick took 3rd place other finalists were Jasmin Tomlinson, Jed AC, Daniel Chapman, Kelso and Barry McLean, Hawick.

Final event of the day was the 110 metre final and it was Marc Cockburn, Selkirk who surged into the lead in the final metres to take the tape in 11.45sec with Paul Ferguson , TLJT just unable to close the gap in 2nd and John Paxton, Hawick inches behind in 3rd. Douglas Prowse, Hawick, David Lauder, Hawick, and Peter Denham , Melrose made up the final places.


Comments are closed.